Summer Movies Al Fresco

Thur 12 Dec – Sat 25 Jan, 9pm (movie starts at dusk)

2019 Summer Movies Al Fresco Tim Cuff smaller

Thur 12 Dec – Sat 25 Jan, 9pm (movie starts at dusk)

Cost: $2 adult, $1 child

This summer we bring some relatively unknown jewels to the parks including a salute to the 50th anniversary of the Apollo 11 flight.

Coinciding with Nelson Provincial Museum’s Our Moon exhibition we will set up in Trafalgar St for a space-themed screening. The 1902 16-minute Trip To The Moon and the 1964 First Men In The Moon are both acknowledged for ground-breaking special effects of their time.

Some of the 18 region-wide screenings will be shown with English subtitles turned on for the deaf, hard of hearing or English as a second language viewers (see schedule). Most parks are flat, grassy surfaces and have accessible toilets, except Fairfield Park. 

Gather a group, a picnic, contemplate a blow-up couch or a beanbag and join us from 7:30 pm to play giant board games, enjoy the park and watch the region's glorious summer sunsets.  

Wrap up warm - you could even wear your pyjamas or a onesie - and please pocket a torch to light your way home.

* Subtitles for the hearing impaired noted by an asterisk.

If the weather is marginal, text 'Is it on?' to 021 77 66 23 after 7:30pm.

Date Movie Location
Fri 13 Dec Pollyanna Isel Park, Stoke
Sat 14 Dec Trip to the Moon plus A Christmas Carol* Botanic Reserve, Nelson
Thu 19 Dec Trip to the Moon plus The First Men in the Moon Outside Nelson Provincial Museum, Trafalgar Street, Nelson
Fri 20 Dec A Christmas Carol Washbourne Gardens, Richmond
Sat 21 Dec The Pink Panther Fairfield Park, Nelson
Wed 8 Jan Anne of the Indies Tahuna Beach Holiday Park, Tahunanaui
Thu 9 Jan The Pink Panther* Isel Park, Stoke
Fri 10 Jan A Christmas Carol Founders Heritage Park, Nelson
Sat 11 Jan Funny Girl Fairfield Park, Nelson
Sun 12 Jan Pollyanna Washbourne Gardens, Richmond
Wed 15 Jan Anne of the Indies Village Green, Takaka
Thur 16 Jan The Pink Panther Faulkners Bush, Wakefield
Fir 17 Jan First Men in the Moon* Founders Heritage Park, Nelson
Sat 18 Jan Anne of the Indies Fairfield Park, Nelson
Sun 19 Jan Funny Girl* Isel Park, Nelson
Thu 23 Jan The Pink Panther Jester House, Tasman
Fri 24 Jan Pollyanna Fairfield Park, Nelson
Sat 25 Jan Anne of the Indies* Washbourne Gardens, Richmond

Check out the Movies Calendar